Identify this stitch please?

chickie

Question

Hi everyone. I made a couple of cowls last year. They are really stretchy and puffy (no puff stitches involved) and I want to make a few more as Christmas gifts. But I can't find the pattern I used and I don't know what stitches I did. It looks like a very simple pattern and I'm pretty new to crochet, so it should be something easy for a pro to recognize....I hope!!  Thanks so much for looking!

The photos are of the front, the back, and then I stretched it so you could see those long lines...which are what is throwing me!  How did I do this?  HELP?

post-76360-0-59687800-1447472846_thumb.jpg

post-76360-0-46849500-1447472938_thumb.jpg

post-76360-0-01193100-1447472995_thumb.jpg

I'm so glad!  The waffle stitch in the Crochet Stitch Bible has become my go-to stitch for puffy and cozy. 

I found it quite by accident.  I had 12 dishcloths to make for a give-away and decided to make them using 12 different stitch patterns.  I literally closed my eyes, randomly opened the Crochet Stitch Bible and pointed.  As long as the stitch wasn't too lacy, that's the one I made.  LOL

I know. I should go for quality over quantity.  Some really nice yarn would make a much better project. Plus I'd love to support the smaller yarn stores and independent spinners. (Someday I'd love to try spinning, too!)  But for now it's all about keeping people warm and I'm literally filling box after box with hats and scarfs to donate (still working on figuring out mittens).  Not that these people don't deserve the best, but there's no way I could possibly afford premium yarn and still make so many warm items.

Still, I will venture into a few smaller shop to see what they have. And I'd love to go to a convention!  I'm sure it would be inspirational.

Thanks for all the info. :ty