Slip stich each row?

LoDoble

Question

Hi I am a newbie here. Besides my intro this is my first post so if my posting etiquette isn't as it should be please let me know! I am working on a hat and part of the pattern reads "Rnd 9-14: 1 dc in ea of the 76 sts. Sl st into the next st and remove marker." So, would I make a slip a stitch at the end of each row or just at the end of the 14th row? Thanks in advance for your help!

7 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  Your question is in the right place, I hope we can answer it.

Is this a free pattern on the 'net that you could provide a link to?  This will help us give you a more precise answer, but just guessing based on typical hat construction: I suspect the hat is not made in a spiral, or at least for rounds 9-14.  Working in a non-spiral, you typically stitch completely around back to the first stitch, slip stitch into the top of the first stitch, chain up, and start the next round.  So, still making assumptions, that means the slip stitch as I just described happens at the end end of each round.

Welcome to Crochetville, LoDoble!

That's a poorly written pattern.  You could interpret it multiple ways.  However, when looking at the preceding rounds and the next rows, you can assume that the slip stitch is only at the end of round 14.  You're working in a spiral up to round 8, so continue in the spiral through round 14.  At the end of round 14, finish the spiral with a slip stitch to prepare for the rows, which start at 15.

Granny Square is right.  The difference between a spiral round and a non-spiral round is whether you continue going around and around (spiral) or whether you finish each round with a slip stitch and then chain up for the next round (non-spiral).  By the way, Granny Square is one of the best when it comes to advice on this forum!

Here's a tip for doing spirals.... instead of using a marker that you have to move, use a running stitch.