New to the forum, New to crochet

shawny026

Hi All,

I just registered for this forum because I saw that helpful information is posted here. I'm also new to crochet. I bought the Boye "I taught myself to crochet" book and using it plus a lot of youtubes I've managed to get through several of the patterns successfully. I made the poncho (gave that to my mom.. :) ); I made the textured jacket for one of my daughters; I've started the Striped Throw for the other daughter and it's going well (so far).

However, i'm currently working on pattern 16- Soft Sage Camisole-. I managed to figure out the Lower section and get that completed. It turned out really well. However, I'm struggling with the pattern for the Camisole Top. The instructions say: Rnd 1 (RS): Join yarn with a sl st in the same ch as beg ch-3 of lower section-Rnd 1. I understand what it's telling to me to do as far as the abbrv. etc, but i don't know how to find that rnd and that beg ch 3 on my work.

Can someone help me out?

Thanks

Welcome to Crochetville!

It would be easier to answer your question, if we knew how you started rnd 1 of the lower section.  Did you start by ch XXX, sl st to the first ch, ch-3? (XXX is the number of the original chain)  I'm going to assume that you did, since it's the most common way to start a round.  Look at the top of each stitch on the chain.  The stitches will most likely be a single strand, called the "back bump."  Look for the one that is slightly thicker, because it has more yarn underneath it.  Immediately below it, look to see if there is a ch-3, instead of a dc.  That's where you start the top section.

I'm really shocked that they didn't have you mark it when you started rnd-1 of the lower section.

Hi and thank you for the welcome.

Yes.. me too.. they have had me mark things all through this pattern, but I just double-checked that i didn't miss the instructions to mark it.. and it's not there!.

Here are the instructions that lead up to the end of rnd1.