Hello, I am very new to crocheting and would like to learn more.

Franziska Kronberger

When my grandmama died I got all of her things for crocheting and would like to learn how to use them.

Hi  Franziska!  welcome to the ville  :hook

Inherited tools, yarns, and threads are a treasure.  

Do you already know some crochet stitches?

Crafty Minx site has a good "Crochet School" http://www.craftyminx.com/crochet-school/   for the basics.  

There are a lot of good books available on crocheting.  I don't know where you live, but in the US, most public libraries have books on crocheting.

Is there anything specific you want to learn?  

To start, maybe something simple like a hat.

The Crochetcabana site has many tutorials.  You can start with Working in the Round http://www.crochetcabana.com/html/round_howto.html

and then go to Making a Hat http://www.crochetcabana.com/html/round_hat.html

Those should give you a lot of information about how to make a hat to the size you want and you can use any weight of yarn.

In English, there are 2 different sets of names for stitches:  the US version and the UK/Australian version http://www.crochetville.com/community/topic/38393-usuk-stitch-name-comparison-table/

The sites I linked use US stitch names.  

When my grandmama died I got all of her things for crocheting and would like to learn how to use them.