Having problems starting Crochet Cozy

starfloater

Hi all,

Thank you for letting me be a part of this community! It is great that I can come here for information regarding tutorials and online classes. :)  I live in New York City and have only been crocheting for a month now. I have done many coasters and now trying to do cozies. 

I am a beginner when it comes to crocheting and I am really getting into it. However, I have reached a problem when reading an understanding this one example I am trying to do.   I have attached a snapshot of the cozy I am trying to do.  

One of my issues is that I don't even understand the first line, lol!

Round 1 states to only create 2 chains then do 7 single crochets in the 2nd chain. Does that mean that I have to do 7 single crochets by crocheting in the same 2nd chain 7 times or crochet the first single crochet in the 2nd chain then after that do the second single crochet in the first single crochet I just did and then the third single crochet in the second single crochet I just did?

Then it tells me not to join it but if I don't join it how is it becoming round?

Then Round 2 is stating to create two single crochets in next 6 single crochets, does that mean I am working on the first row of single crochets from round 1 and starting at the 6th single crochet over?

I have tried finding this on youtube.com but those videos are not chaining just 2 but usually are working with more than just 2 ch.

Any type of help would be really appreciated:)

post-74972-0-82652300-1430140693_thumb.jpg

The instructions are for an increasing spiral.  You chain 2.  The first chain is a ring and the second chain gives you the height of a single crochet.  All 7 of the single crochets are done in the ring.  You'll find as you add single crochets that it naturally creates a ring to make room for all of the stitches.  When you're done making the 7 single crochets, round 2 builds on the first round.  You just keep working round and round.