Amigurumi craze!

difang

I've been knitting for more than half a decade now... I've been crocheting for only 2 months.

Amigurumi was what finally compelled me to learn to crochet. My grandmother gave me her sets of crochet hooks a long time ago and tried to teach me but I never really got the hang of it, mostly cause I still preferred the feel of knitting needles in my hands and couldn't get used to using a single hook. Amigurumi and the promise of super cute creations changed all of that.

I started off with a few cupcakes (youtube tutorial found here) and played around with the toppings a bit:

post-73605-0-40814800-1419029413_thumb.jpg

post-73605-0-07446100-1419029412_thumb.jpg

Surprisingly, crocheting came naturally to me this second time around... maybe because I have more years of knitting under my belt or maybe because I was more motivated to learn this time.

Next, I tackled a pattern for mini birds (youtube tutorial found here):

post-73605-0-92424400-1419029550_thumb.jpg

At this point, I decided I needed more yarn colors cause I'd exhausted my current meager collection, so I stopped by Michael's. To my surprise and joy, they had a sale on one of my favorite cheap acrylic yarns: Caron Simply Soft. It's cheap, it's soft, it's sturdy --  nothing exceptional but nothing to complain about. At $2.50 or so a skein, I loaded up the cart with about a dozen. The entire rainbow!

post-73605-0-97782500-1419029804_thumb.jpg

And with my glorious new palette, I made another bird to go with the blue/brown one:

post-73605-0-19727700-1419029552_thumb.jpg

After making the cupcakes and the birds, I was starting to feel more and more confident in my skills so I went on to tackle a more complicated pattern (though it turned out to be just time-consuming -- after making a couple amigurumi, you start to see the overall pattern of increases and decreases and nothing is really all that difficult to crochet). This bunny pattern took longer cause it simply had more parts: