Pattern help!

JessieRay26

Question

I'm fairly new at crocheting but I've been looking for a pattern for a blanket that I could make. I finally found one that I really enjoy but the issue is that I want to make the guage but I'm not sure how. It's a chevron style pattern. I hope it's okay that I put the link to it, it is a free pattern. Can you guys help me figure out how to make the guage?

http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/chic-chevron-throw

21 answers to this question

Perfect advice....I forgot about the bigger hook to start with. I don't have to do that anymore but I do have to make a conscious effort to work it more loosely than I tend to do...esp for ripples!

are you positive all the increases an decreases are correct?  usually if things don't line up, the problem is there.

ripples can be difficult, it's not just you.  

I went through and looked over them and I believe they are correct. I ripped out Row 3 and went back, the only way I can get them to line up is if I work into the very first double crochet instead of skipping it. I'm not sure what the impact will be if I do that.

Just to let you know, depending on your tension, if you only have a certain amount of yarn, then you maybe a tad short of yarn. Gauge is more important, as others have stated, for clothing and wearables that need to fit properly. Afghans don't have to be, only concern would be the amount of yarn. I tend to crochet, at times, a bit looser, so my afghans are just a little larger (depending on the pattern) but since I am a yarnoholic, I always have more than I need anyway.

Roe

No, no I have more than enough yarn! That's just the specific brand of yarn I have.