Heidi hippo hexi need help

Dayna Brown

Question

hi I've bought the Heidi hippo design and it says I have to do hexagons and pentagons and more but I've tried and mine look round and there curling in on the selfs I've tried different size hooks and still the same out come I don't no what to do I don't want to give up x in the design Heidi's hexis look flat mine ain't plz can someone help I'm new to crochet I don't want to quit my hobbie because of this x

24 answers to this question

I would try a larger hook, maybe a 3mm, because i think your stitches are too tight.  

it is hard to tell how much your centers are curling---if you could take a pic of one from the side it would show that better.  

if the centers are really cupped, blocking won't solve that.  but it could help bring out the corners on the outer ring.  blocking can be as simple as getting your piece thoroughly wet, squeezing out the excess water, and laying it flat to dry.  you could use pins to shape the corners.  you can also use stream to block.

what is the fiber content of your yarn?  the label should tell you that.  also what is the name of the yarn?  

Dayna, when I started making the pentagons, they curl a bit but if you just give a good stretch from each of the apex of the petals, they lay down fine then... try that. I'm using RHSS with an F. If I don't stretch them some, they do curl though but afterwards, lay flat like coasters. 

Sarisue is right as well. Just take a break and then come back. I tried this flower years ago (before Heidi's tutorial) and it frustrated me then.

If you want to pm me your address, I could send you a completed one so you could have one in hand to look at. Not sure if that would help but it might. ;)