Problems with basic stitches

tinkerpuppet

Question

I am just learning the basic stitches from a book and doing lots of practice swatches. I think I have single crochet down, but when I do a half double crochet or a double crochet, there are small spaces between the stitches, where the pics in the book show a solid fabric (like my single crochet). Also my dc doesn't have straight edges. Can someone have a look and let me know if they can see what I'm doing wrong?

Here is my sc, I feel pretty comfortable with it, and there are no spaces between stitches (like the picture in the book). I used a 6.0 hook.

Picture074.jpg

This is my half double crochet. There are spaces, I've tried different tensions, but its still 'loose'. I used a 6.0 hook.

Picture075.jpg

And this is my dc. Again there are spaces. I've tried different tensions and different hooks. This is with a 3.5 hook. Also, the edges are wavey, not straight.

Picture076.jpg

Any advice would be great!

4 answers to this question

:think :think :think :think :think :think :think :think

What you are doing wrong, is very common with beginners.

:think When you are doing rows, the top of the stitch appears to be to the right of the actual stitch on one row, then to the left on the next.

:think When doing rounds the top of the stitch always appears to be on the right.

:think On your DC row, you should NOT be working into the stitch immediately below the CH3 as this will increase a stitch, but you also DO need to work into the top of the turning CH from the beginning of the row before.

:think The way you are doing it, you are keeping the same number of stitches but ending up with the bumps on the sides.

:hook With your SCs, I always do one CH as I turn then work into ALL stitches, including the one that the CH sits on, then you are not trying to work into a single CH at the end of the row. Keeps the edges straight too.