Reading chart patterns

Hello crocheters,

I am a beginner crocheter, but I have already tackled on a few projects and my next one has proven impossible for me to read. A friend of mine has lended me her book and I have chosen to knit this collar, and even though I understand what each symbol means individually, I am not sure how everythig connects (see attached image). I am confused about the "end stitch" on both ends..which one is it? Also, after I chain the initial 31, what happens next? (I see an arch of more chain stitches going up row 1, but I am not sure how to knit this). Anyway help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

mississ

welcome to the ville :hook

row 1 is read right to left, row 2 is read left to right, etc.  After you do the 31 chains for the base, you need to chain 6 more for the turning chain and the first half-arch.  

You should probably review the site guidelines; it is a violation of copyright and of the site guidelines to post an entire pattern, or a photo or scan of a pattern.  

also don't be confused about the end sts.  there are 2 ends to your beginning chain, right?  that is just pointing out where the 31 sts begin and end.  it is just for counting purposes.  

Hi :hi and Welcome :welcome    to Crochetville from the Gulf Coast of Florida.

Grab your yarn and hooks, put your feet up and sit a spell.

I wish I could help you, but symbols are beyond me right now.

Thank you for your reply, Kathy, this is actually a small part of a huge pattern....Could I post little closeups of it (not revealing the whole thing) as I go along, or is that a violation also? Please advise. 

I don't think we are supposed to post any kind of photo/scan of any part of a pattern.  We would need Amy (admin) to tell us for sure, I will message her.     I think it would be fine to sketch a little drawing of a part that you get stuck on, and post that.