Help keeping crochet from appearing slanted

funkymonkey

Question

I am new to crochet, and I'm not sure why the stitching on this banana looks twisted. After the first couple rows, they were all 15 sc's. Why did it end up slanting? On the monkey body (which can't be seen too well in the picture) it isn't slanted at all. I know the monkey face is all wonky; I ended up putting it on sideways because the shape worked better. Mostly, I want to avoid the slanty stitch like the banana has. I did it exactly the same way as the body, so not sure what happened. Thanks!!

post-69880-0-95774900-1388933340_thumb.jpg

14 answers to this question

Non-Tunisian crochet stitches slant, it just the nature of the stitch.  It's because the top loops of the stitch are slightly offset from the stitch itself, so when you use those loops to make the next row, the next row is offset.

When you crochet in the round, without turning, the slant is more pronounced.

\\\\\

\\\\\

When you crochet either in the round or flat, and turn, the slanted appearance is more cancelled out

\\\\\

/////

I think you turned in the monkey's face, right?  It looks like I'm seeing short row shaping.

PS, your toys are adorable!

Thanks for the reply! Actually I didn't turn the face; the only part I turned was on the monkey's hood to leave the opening for the face. 

I guess I'm doing it correctly then if it's slanting.

post-69880-0-71331300-1388948377_thumb.jpg

This shows the difference a bit better between the monkey's "straight" body stitches and the slanted banana ones. 

I remembered I wasn't crocheting correctly on the monkey body, which may have ended up making it straighter? I was only hooking the top half of the stitch (like you do on the row after a chain stitch) instead of going all the way under the previous stitch. I will try making a new banana the "wrong" way and see if that straightens out my confusion!