waysouth

Question re posting a link

Am I allowed to post a Pinterest link to a particular board here?

I have found a source of wonderful patterns from a magazine no longer published. The pinner has scanned them

Im really not sure, sorry, you might check the rules and regs thread and see if it's listed as a no no, or not.......sorry.

Did have a look, but I'm not very good at interpreting rules and regulations

It would depend on when the mag was published as a lot of those patterns are still under copyright,  and most of  the sites that do this are not allowed. You could PM or email one of the owners and they will tell you wheather it is allowed

The short answer is no.  Just because a publication is no longer in print or easy to obtain - scanning and sharing patterns is still a copyright violation.

I'll leave the rest to Amy to explain.

Edited by RoseRed

As others have mentioned, the answer will depend upon the date of publication of the magazine, so we can determine if copyright is still in place.

Even though the magazine is no longer being published, it is possible that they sold their copyrights to another party when they went out of business. It's also possible that the contracts with the designers specified the copyrights reverted to them if the magazine ceased publication or went out of business.

If the magazine is old enough, it's possible that the copyright term has expired, and the patterns are now considered in the public domain.

If you'd like to send me the link in question via private message, I can take a look and see if the link can be shared here in accordance with our site policies.

The short answer is no.  Just because a publication is no longer in print or easy to obtain - scanning and sharing patterns is still a copyright violation.

I'll leave the rest to Amy to explain.