Using special stitches in a pattern

rembunten

Question

I am designing a Christmas stocking, and used an edging for which I found directions online. If I want to share the pattern, since it incorporates that edging stitch that I got from someone else, do I need permission from that person? Or do I just credit them and link to their pattern? Or should I not use it at all? Their pattern was free. I would be offering my pattern for free as well - but if I were selling it would that change the answer?

Sorry for all the questions! I'm starting to design more and would like to share my patterns but I'm still new to it.

4 answers to this question

Lacking enough information to determine if an actaul violation exists (and respecting CV preference not to have detailed discussions) 

Essentially, Copyright grants the author the right to control HOW and WHERE their work is displayed - used, etc.

MONEY does not entire into the issue until the "Punitive" damages section occurs. 

EVEN if the motif is in stitch guides, it is the INSTRUCTIONS that are copyright.  So you will have to write your own instructions

In your situation, I would contact the person whose work you incorporated into your project and seek permission to link back to their instructions for that section of your instructions.

I am designing a Christmas stocking, and used an edging for which I found directions online.

If I want to share the pattern, since it incorporates that edging stitch that I got from someone else, do I need permission from that person? Or do I just credit them and link to their pattern? Or should I not use it at all?

Their pattern was free. I would be offering my pattern for free as well - but if I were selling it would that change the answer?

I linked to a border pattern for my diamond ghan pattern.  Freepatterns.com removed the border pattern.  A lot of people have contacted me for the instructions.  If you link to it - you run the risk of it being removed by the copyright holder.