Hello from Berkshire in the UK

Hazel Stoddart

Hello! I'm Hazel and I wanted to come to a place I could be enthusiastic about crochet without people thinking i'm boring. I'm still learning and mainly do blankets, I need to learn how to read patterns still but I got 10 crochet books for my birthday so I am intent on learning soon.

Anyone else feel like they want to talk about crochet but everyone around you doesn't understand/care or things its boring or old fashioned?

Hi Hazel! I'm not too far from you in Wiltshire, nice to see another UK lady :) Welcome to an incredibly friendly place, you can talk about crochet to your heart's content and be met with equal enthusiasm, support and encouragement. 

How you finding this heat, are you melting as much as we are?! 

My best friend calls me 'old before my time' for crocheting, but she certainly doesn't mind when her kids are the beneficiaries of my projects! 

I've only been doing crochet for about 6 weeks, I too did blankets first. I was really nervous to try patterns but it isn't as scary as you think I promise. Are you a member of Ravelry? If not I'd highly recommend it, they have tonnes of free patterns and they are rated by members who have done them as to how easy/difficult they are, which was a great starting point for me. 

Looking forward to seeing you around on the forum :) 

Becca x

I've been crocheting for years, my mothers a knitter and does a little crochet but she says my tension is better than hers in crochet. I always used to only make hexagons as that was what I learned to make firs but then taught myself granny squares and recently taught myself granny stripe.

My WIP's are two baby blankets for a set of twins that I have almost finished, a clutch bag, and a bed spread but I am awaiting a delivery of wool as it was out of stock.