Curling problem

Confused

Hi all, I'm new to this site, and I need a bit of help. I'm crocheting a round blanket for my guy for our anniversary, but it keeps curling, and it looks like a hat.

I'm using a Lion Brand Homespun yarn that's lableled as Bulky, and my needle is a Susan Bate 6MM or USJ10. I started by doing the chain stitch 6 times and then connecting it, and i've jsut been using a single crochet stitch to do this. I'm pretty new at crocheting in general, but i've wanted to make this for a while.

Can anyone tell me how to fix it? Also, will i need to start all over or not?

Hi, and welcome to Crochetville!

Hmmm, a hat, I usually have the opposite problem, mine get ripples, lol!

You said you started with a ring of 6 chains, then did single crochet in the first row, not sure how many stitches you put in the first row, but that next row (2) has to have two sc's in each stitch for it to lay flat. Is it flat in the center or cupped?

I find it easier to start with a chain 2, then do 6 sc in the 2nd ch from the hook.. or start with a magic loop, and do the 6 sc's into it... like this .... Her diagram gives a nice simple explanation of how to start your circle,

Are you a member of Ravelry? There's lots of free round afghan pattern there, just to give you some ideas. (only takes a minute to sign up)

Either working with or without a pattern, I'd keep a notepad handy and jot down what number increase I'm working on, for my own sanity's sake (or jot down your numbers first, and cross them off as you complete that row) Working on round stuff can be tricky, check often for ripples or cupping, sometimes you can "fix" it but usually it means taking it back a row or two. Sometimes it needs an extra increase added or left out to keep it flat... I think it depends on my mood and how I crochet today, compared to yesterday, loose vs.tight, or too much coffee, who knows? lol.