What does "tr in top of ch-2" mean?

beans_etc

Question

Crochet noob here!  I just took my first crochet class last week, and I'm practicing a simple scarf pattern my instructor gave me to work on.  However, I'm on the second row now of the pattern and I'm stuck because I don't understand what the pattern is asking me to do!

The directions for row 2 are as follows:

Row 2: Ch 4 (counts as first tr), skip first hdc, tr in next 15 hdc, tr in top of ch-2; turn.

(Row 3 then proceeds to go into a row of dc stitches, which ends again with the same phrasing: "dc in top of ch-4; turn".)

I've actually finished row 2 -- I have all of the tr stitches done, but I don't understand what it means at the end when it says "tr in top of ch-2". Does it want me to do one more random tr stitch. . .? Where do I do it? Does it want me to go to my next row and do the tr in the 2nd chain? (But that doesn't make sense because it doesn't say to turn the project around until AFTER I've done this mysterious last stitch.)

*Confused*

Attached is a photo of what I have done so far.  (As you can see I've done all 16 tr stitches, so I don't know what or where this last tr it's talking about is supposed to go.)

post-67405-0-53325700-1368760761_thumb.jpg

Any help anyone could offer would be appreciated!  >_<

8 answers to this question

In row 1, your very first stitch was made up of these two chain stitches, which are now at the end of your 2nd row. You always will be working your last stitch into that turning chain from the previous row.

Here's a little video that shows where to pick up the chain stitch, it should clear things up for you.

The ch-2 is your turning chain.  It also pretends to be the first hdc of the row.  When you work row 3 and get to the end it pretends to be the last hdc.  You put your last stitch into this.

Okay, I think I understand.  So just to be clear, in total when I'm done I should be able to count 16 tr's in this row, correct?