Soooooooooooooo frustrated!

rita821

Question

Hello Fellow Chrocheters,

I am sitting here ready to pull my hair out.....surely that will be easier than trying to pull the yarn out of this skein of yarn. I am still new to crochet and have only started a few skeins of yarn, but I've started them differently. Some seem to unwind naturally from the outside while others seem to start from the inside. This particular skein I started with seemed to start from the inside so that is what I started pulling from. It was working fine for a while then all of a sudden a big clump of tangled knot came out.

It took me some time but I was able to untangle that mess and things started flowing again only to jam up again and again and again. I'm fed up and need to know what is the right way to start pulling the yarn out from so this doesn't happen again. Thank you for your advise.

rita821

15 answers to this question

What kind of yarn is it?  

it really depends on how the yarn was wound.  Some are not intended to be pulled from the inside at all.  Some that are supposed to be pulled from the inside (called center-pull) just don't work right and get tangled.  

Sometimes there is a note on the label telling how you can pull the yarn from the skein.  

I generally pull from the center.  Some yarns, though, have the outside tail tucked into the center, and that tail is holding on to the center of the skein.  First pull that outside tail out or you'll end up with a mess.  After releasing it, then pull the center-pull tail out.  I know many people that don't want to deal with it and just start from the outside.  You can go either way, but if you are going for the center, make sure that the center isn't being held by the outside tail that was tucked in.