Career in Crochet- Questions

I'm not sure which place this question most likely falls, so feel free to move it if needed.

It is my dream to be a crochet designer. And I had noticed that a lot of major craft designers have degrees in art and such. I am just starting college and want to pursue a career in crafts, mainly crochet (with knit) but am clueless about the degree and courses I would need. Would I need textile and fashion design? If so, where do I go from there? Can someone help point me in the right direction? :think

While it may be helpful to study fashion design or earn an artistic degree, I would say it isn't necessary to be a designer. I'm a soon-to-be published designer who has a bachelor of science degree (pre-med biology) and a master's in marriage and family therapy. My immediate friends who are also designers either have not gone to college or have a non-art degree. What we do all have in common is an undying passion for crochet. 

What I can suggest to you is to look into joining the CGOA, and if financially possible for you, attend one of the Chain Link conferences. The Professional Development Day offered at both conferences is extremely helpful in getting started as a designer. I also suggest applying for the Crochet Associate Professional designation through CGOA. This will allow you to receive a mentor (absolutely free) which is invaluable. It's also important to network with other designers and crocheters. Seek out crochet groups in your area, and if there are none then start up a group!

While it may be helpful to study fashion design or earn an artistic degree, I would say it isn't necessary to be a designer. I'm a soon-to-be published designer who has a bachelor of science degree (pre-med biology) and a master's in marriage and family therapy. My immediate friends who are also designers either have not gone to college or have a non-art degree. What we do all have in common is an undying passion for crochet.