Help reading pattern

JosieMald

Question

I am relatively new to crocheting and when I mean new I mean I just started yesterday. I studied the book that I bought but it doesn't really explain reading patterns to much just mostly abbreviations. So I've started this pattern but I am stuck on RND 3. So this is the beginning of the pattern with some extra info.

Chocolate brown yarn held double

Ch 2

Rnd 1: 6 sc in second ch from hook. (6)

Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around. Join with a sl st. (12)

Rnd 3: Ch 3 (count as first dc), *dc inc, dc* five times, dc inc. Join with a sl st. (18)

I'm not sure if I am reading this right. So this is what I think I am suppose to do. At the third chain I make a dc then I do the dc inc (2 chains) then the dc and repeat this 5 times and finish up the rest. I tried it this way and it looks weird because the gaps are really big. So I don't know if I'm crocheting it wrong and it just looks weird or I read the pattern wrong. Another thing is when it says ch 3 am I suppose to make 3 chains or use the third stitch from the sc? I feel like I am making this more complicated then it seems.

Thanks in advance.

Josie

4 answers to this question

Okay so I went through my book again and realized that it never explained dc inc it only explained decreasing which is weird so I finally found a good tutorial. Though my question still remains. In the beginning of Rnd 3 do I make 3 ch? I'm sorry I am such a noob. I am going to try and do 3 ch and see how it looks because I am getting desperate. I have been trying to complete this hat since yesterday.

Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around. Join with a sl st. (12)

Rnd 3: Ch 3 (count as first dc), *dc inc, dc* five times, dc inc. Join with a sl st. (18)