Help with thread sizes

LadyLighthousePearl

Boy do I love to crochet with thread ... but...

US patterns are always talking about size 3, size 10 etc. and I have no idea what that means?

How can that be explained to someone who is on the other side of the big puddle ... Help Ladies!!! Pleeeeaaasssseee :think

• 4 weeks later...

Size 3 is a thicker thread than size 10 , 20, is thinner than 10...30 is thinner than 20...The smaller the number 3 ,the thicker the thread.....

Size 3---thicker, than

Size 10-- 10 is thinner, than ( Size 10, my favorite size,I might add)

Size 20-- 20 is thinner, than

Size 30--very thin.

I hope this helps, as I am not very good at explaining

• 2 weeks later...

:facebookHi Lady LighthousePearl, just remember the higher number size thread the thinner it goes. Just like Crochet hooks. Thread sizes can go all the way to 100. I don't know where but I saw size 150 thread once. This was about 2-3 years ago I was browsing around on the computer.

I even crochet with sewing thread. put a few together to get the look you want. I have tried crocheting with size 70 & 80 thread alone. and you can forget it. I'll stay with size 10,20,30's. what are you going to crocheting once you get your thread ?

Hope this helps in your buying your thread.

• 1 month later...
Size 3 is a thicker thread than size 10 , 20, is thinner than 10...30 is thinner than 20...The smaller the number 3 ,the thicker the thread.....

Size 3---thicker, than

Size 10-- 10 is thinner, than ( Size 10, my favorite size,I might add)

Size 20-- 20 is thinner, than

Size 30--very thin.

I hope this helps, as I am not very good at explaining

There is one brand I've used where the size 8 is more like our size 20. Finca threads. I love the thread but made an assumption it would be larger than the size 10 I was using. I don't know if it's unique to the brand or the fact it was perle cotton.