Where to start?

Franky

Question

I am a complete beginner and I am looking at getting started. I have ordered an assortment of hooks to see how I get on.

I have no idea where to start with yarn. I would like to do a blanket to start with, it may be a bit ambitious but hey.

I would like it for my daughter's single bed. It's so confusing with all the different types. I don't know what quantity to buy. I just know I would like pinks and purples.

Also, I am not sure what type of blanket to start with either.

So, I have a lot of things I am unsure about but not a lot I am sure about :lol

Can anyone help?

10 answers to this question

You should go to http://www.ravelry.com

theres alot of free patterns for everything on there :)

Pretty much all patterns tell you how much/what type of yarn you would need and size hook for that particular item, and if you dont fully understand how to do a type of stitch, theres plenty of tutorial videos on youtube :D

hope that helps :)

I reckon the best kind of thing to start on is Amigurumi... all those cute little animals. Thats where I started. Also you could start making Squares for afghans / friendship squares. They can use all kinds of stitches and easy to practice by making your first afghan blanket. There are lots of patterns and help on Ravelry and also at Crochet Pattern Central.

Hope that helps and gives you some idea. :hug

So for a complete beginner (I was mostly a beginner) I found an online "crochet school" that was free and really nicely done just to get started, it went through all the basic stuff different kinds of yarns and hooks. I personally did Craftyminxs' I think if you google craftyminx and crochet school it should come up. Also- redheart.com lionbrand.com and raverly.com are all EXCELLENT sites to find patterns. Also you can google afghan patterns and usually you'll come up with several.

Good luck and happy hookin'

Hello Franky,

I would suggest you start with a simple Granny Square Blanket. A Granny