Staple Yarns?

goldengirl

Hi! I'm fairly new to using yarns, and I'm really confused by all the varieties out there!

I started with Caron One Pounders, which I hated working with (too thick and twine-y), but my blanket came out very nice after washing. I also bought a bunch of Caron Simply Soft and Lion Brand Pound of Love to test out. I like the feel of CSS, but it's fuzzing as I'm working on it, which is disconcerting. I like PoL as well, but don't like the color range.

I've also tried a wool blend (Caron Country) to make a pair of gloves, and I love them! I used to avoid wool because it made me itch, but this yarn doesn't at all.

Anyway, before I make any more yarn orders, I'd like to know what your staple yarns are for afghans, clothes, and baby items? They don't have to be acrylic: I just started out with that because they seemed more versatile.

Thanks! :)

I Love This Yarn is by Hobby Lobby and it is pretty soft right off the skein, and it washes up wonderfully soft. CSS fuzzes up horribly after its washed, at least with what I've used it for. Red Heart Soft is nice as well, but like Simply Soft, it gets fuzzy after being washed in my experience. I try to stick to using RHSS for testing a pattern out before trying it with the project's chosen yarn, or for amigurumi.

I really like Washable Ewe (100% superwash wool) from the Stitch Nation line at Red Heart. They also have Bamboo Ewe (55% viscose from bamboo, 45% wool), Alpaca Love (80% wool, 20% alpaca) and then Full O' Sheep which is a fully feltable 100% wool.

But right now, my favorite acrylic (if cost isn't much of a concern) is Brava Worsted from KnitPicks. It is so nice and soft, has a good range across its 30 colors, and washes up great.