Oval rag rug help!!!

queenjennyk

Question

I have read all the previous posts regarding this topic but still need help...i have torn my stitches out too many times and now my fabric is fraying but I am giving it one more go!!

I spent 100.00 on fabric so this HAS to work!!!

I am using this pattern...

http://crochet.about.com/library/weekly/aa100299.htm

I get the concept but my shape is horrible after about 10 rounds. I get that you have to add 3 increases on each end. How many sc's does each side have? does that increase too or always stay at 21 (or 20)

In the 7 rows she has listed it seems to change but it goes up and down so I am not grasping the concept!!! i am not good at experimenting - prefer and EXACT pattern so this is hard for me.

also, i am making this into a HUGE area rug for a bedroom so I don't want the shape to be horrible.

14 answers to this question

I mainly need help with making the oval...my rags are ready and rolled and I am about 7 rows

I need help with figuring out exactly how the counts go as you get larger. I get that you increase 3 stitches on each end and add one inbetween each time but how many stitches are on the sides? I can't figure out when to make the first increase each time

There's not too much out there for oval rugs. Here's the link to the Ravelry search page for 'oval rug'. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/search#craft=crochet&query=oval%20rug&page=1&view=captioned_thumbs&sort=best

Most of the ones that I've seen only go up to Round 6 or 7 and then tell you to continue.

I wish I could be more helpful but I've never made one so I don't have the st counts for you.

Hi Queenjenny, maybe I can help you a bit as I've made several of these, both with scrap material and with yarn. Here's a post with some photos and you'll see my remarks on #4,#6 and #8.... http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=125675&highlight=rugs