Easy pattern?

linda cee

I'm a beginner knitter and all but one of the patterns I have linked to in this post are ones I have successfully tried.

Dishcloths or washcloths are quick knits and useful besides. This one is all knit and purl, and since it's small, it is done before you have time to get bored.

It comes from this blog, and she has a lot of other dishcloth patterns posted as well.

I also just finished this one, which includes yarn overs and knitting two stitches together, as well as plain knit and purl stitches.

There are tons of other picture dishcloths available as free patterns as well.

I am a beginner knitter and I've made these baby booties. I used WW yarn and size 6 needles to make mine more of a 3 to 6 month size.

And these slippers are straight knit but changing colors every few stitches makes them a little less boring than just knitting on and on and on.... Another pattern for the same slippers with lots of pictures.

And lastly, my niece made this headband as her first knit project. I haven't made this one, but her's turned out really nice.

One of the things I did fairly early on was hats. They do not have to be made in the round but can be knit flat and then seamed up. Actually that was a good way to go in the beginning. I got practice reducing the stitches for the crowns and practice seaming. Later I learned to do them in the round on circular needles, finishing the crowns with double pointed needles. Practically any pattern may be seamed. Just add a couple of stitches extra for the seam and do it that way. Easy Hat Pattern

I also did a lot of dishcloths while learning how to control the stitches and tension. Even if it's pretty wonky at first a few runs through a washer and dryer smooths out most of the unevenness. Here is one of my favorite patterns: the Granny Dishcloth. It's simple and gives practice in yarn over increasing and Knit 2 together decreasing.