Filet Crochet Help

genafan201

Hi All...I'm going to admit, I'm brand new to filet crochet, and in fact am working on only my second piece. But, I've had the same problem on both pieces. I chain the number of chains indicated, then work my row, and BOTH times have ended up with 3 extra chains at the end of the first row.

The first piece I actually started over with three less chains, but now that it's happened again I figured I'd better ask if I'm doing something wrong, or if I'm supposed to be doing something with those extra chains...

Any help would be appreciated :day

Make absolutely sure you have the right number of meshes/blocks. If so, then just unravel the extra chains and weave in the end of the thread.

Let us know what the pattern is, and we can look and see what might cause the problem.

But a lot of us routinely make extra foundation chains and unravel the excess, so i consider that a valid technique!

Right now, ironically enough, I'm looking at the Snowstar pattern in Annie's Attic "Learn to do Filet Crochet in Just One Day"...Leave it to me to turn a one day project into a week long event...

Been there done that many times!!!:lol

I have the pattern book and I counted 31 mesh and block squares for row 1. Is that what you have?

Yes...

The instructions in the book say to get the number of chains you need to start, figure the number of blocks, both open and closed, multiply by 3, and when the first block is open add 6 chains and start in the 9th chain from hook, which is exactly what the instructions in the pattern state. But I end up with an extra 3 chains after working the first row. I just don't get it...