Teaching tension, best way?

Hello,

I gave my first ever private crochet lesson this afternoon to an absolute beginner. She had never picked up a hook before.

I taught her chains, sc, dc, and how to turn. It was an hour class so feel we got quite a bit done.

However the hardest thing for me to help her with was tension. She was either way to tight or way too loose with her stitches. I know that probably comes with time and practice, but is there anything that can make this easier to learn?

Thanks in advance for any advice or help!!

Carlinda :dog

I had that problem when I was teaching myself from the computer. I just crocheted square after square until I felt comfortable with that stitch. And with the practice my tension started to even out. I would give her homework. Like do so many practice squares so many stitches long in sc, or dc. I practice still to this day on new stitches, before I do a project.

Practice.

One thing that you could do is have her make scarves. Pick a stitch and work longways on it. By the time the scarf is done she should have achieved her tension. If you do it in a variegated yarn then you won't notice the difference in the tension nearly as much. Also, she'll have the feeling of accomplishment from finishing a project.

• 7 months later...

I would suggest that she crochet "Swatchies". I can't remember where I saw the pattern. (Here, Crochet pattern central, or Ravelry) Crochet small swatches, put two swatches together, adding arms, legs, eyes, etc. You have a toy to show for it when you are done.

http://www.crochetme.com/media/p/88825.aspx Here is a how two sample.

• 1 month later...

Tension is mainly something you "feel" while you are physically crocheting and it can be difficult to teach initially. For me, I like to teach it by having them physically "see" when all the stitches start looking alike. Tension can be seen, before it is felt, in beginners.