Crocodile stitch

nelda9

Question

Can someone please tell me in simple terms how to do the crocodile stitch? I have watched videos, read patterns, and all are different and I am so frustrated trying to figure this out. I have been crocheting for mure than 60 years.

I'm also on board with buying the book when it comes out. I'm having such fun making my scarf, so I will really enjoy making some of the projects in it. I had to watch Yarn Muse's videos a few times to get all the directions right, but once I got it, it was easy. I'm looking forward to making further use of this stitch!

There are several members who have made Bernat's "mermaid Tears" purse. It looks just like the crocodile stitch, but the base (the part the scales are made upon) is created differently. It's not as much of an open mesh pattern like the original crocodile stitch.

If you are making a purse, I'd check out Bernat's pattern. If you are going to make something that needs drape, then I'd definitely stick with the original crocodile stitch pattern.

If you haven't had a look, check out some of the bags that were made. They are very pretty :)

When I made this tea cozy awhile back, I think I was doing the crocodile stitch and didn't know it. The pattern is free from crochetroo. http://crochetroo.blogspot.com/2006/05/scallop-tea-cosy-instructions.html

This so called crocodile stitch looks very much like my scallop tea cosy. Interesting how this has been reinvented.

nelda9 I watched the YouTube and crocheted right along with the video. Took about an hour and a half of pause and play, but I finally got the hang of it. Once that happened; I just kept going and going and going LOL.

One suggestion....use a larger hook so you can see where to put the hook. Once I changed to a larger hook, it got a lot easier.

Also this stitch takes a lot of yarn. When I got to the end of the yarn, my strip was only about 2 feet or so and that was AFTER I had changed to a smaller hook.

Hope this helps.