Just start out need some advice

Nickyz_N_Stitchez

Question

As I stated early, I started learning to crotchet about two days ago. I am teaching myself and I need some guidance. Just starting out what should my main focus be? There are so many things that seem important. Should I be working on tension? and what is gauging?? When should I start trying to make something? Right now, all I am making are little squares of stitches that I am trying to learn. So far I have learned the chain and the single crochet and ever time I think I am going make something it seems way to advanced. I am starting to feel a little overwhelmed and discouraged:(. Does anyone have any advice they can give to a beginner??

12 answers to this question

Hi and welcome to the Ville!:hook

I think it is helpful to have a good book that you can refer to to learn different sttiches, learn about gauge, etc. and these books usually have some easy patterns to start on. If you would like some book recommendations, I can share my favorites, and other people have different favorites. Books written for kids/teens can be really good resources, because they usually have very clear instructions and illustrations, and cute projects.

The little squares of stitches that you are making would be considered "swatches" and a lot of crocheters make many swatches to learn new stitch patterns. It's fine to keep on making little swatches, it's a great way to practice. When you've been crocheting for years, a swatch is still the best way to check gauge and be sure you like the combination of yarn and stitch pattern before you start on a project.

in the thread below in my signature, there is good advice from a bunch of Ville members.

Don't be discoraged, give yourself time to learn!

I found the children's section at the library was great for learning the basic stitches. I wasn't always crazy about the projects, but the directions were clear and easy to follow.