motif help

karens007

Question

There is a lady at "Crochet a little" website who makes amazing motifs. All her work is free. Big problem for me is I need help reading a graph. I can understand what all the symbols mean but i don't know where to start and move to next. Is there anyone who can help or that has maybe written out some of these wonderful motifs? Thank you

13 answers to this question

Sorry, wish I could help but I have the same problem. I've been crocheting for over 30 years and still cannot follow a graph, which frustrates me. If you check there are some tutorials on this and sites that explain what all the symbols are for. I'm sure someone here will be able to help.

There are black and white triangles that function as arrows. The white triangle indicates the starting point, and the black one is the stopping point. If the order of work isn't intuitive, there should be arrows to guide you (there were on at least one of the motifs I looked at).

If you have never worked with symbols, these aren't the easiest patterns to begin with--you might want to practice with a few simpler charted patterns before tackling some of those. (Unless you were looking at something simple--I was looking at dinosaurs, and they looked rather tricky.)

the link works, thank you for posting it. i never would have found it on my own. and on the first page, I'm already saying, "wow, amazing motifs!" I will say, that some of these look quite complex. Charts are a very visual way of showing a pattern, and with lacework, I find them easier to follow than having it all written out.

If you can get a copy of "Crochet Stitch Bible", that book has charts and written instructions, and seeing both together might help you to be able to follow charts.

HTH

Thank you, Karen. I ran it through Babelfish. This one is the page you posted to. You will see that Babelfish has its limitations, LOL.