Help PLEASE!

TobeysMama

Question

I am not a novice crocheter, but I don't understand this....I think I am reading it wrong and need another set of eyes to help me! I am probably gonna realize what an idiot I am once someone else explains it, but i just don't get it, lol. :think

I get to round 2 and stop because I don't understand round 3. I only get 21 stitches or something instead of 30.

Ch 2, work will begin in first chain

Round 1: ch 1, 9 sc in ring; join with sl st in first sc {9 sc}

Round 2: ch 3 (counts as dc from here forward), dc in joining space, (2dc in each sc) join with sl st {20 dc}

you will work in the spaces before and after fpdc

Round 3: ch 3, dc in joining space, dc, fpdc, (dc, dc, fpdc) {30 st}

7 answers to this question

hmmmm i find that confusing too. "work in the spaces before and after fpdc" means what exactly? are you supposed to do a dc in the stitch behind the fpdc? you know how the post st leaves a st unworked behind it? maybe you are to dc there also?

what is the pattern? is there a photo with to give any clues?

:lol I believe this must be the most question marks i have ever used in a post!

it's a pattern I bought from a seller on Etsy - it's for a hat. I don't want to post the whole pattern cause I don't want someone telling me I am giving their pattern away. I e-mailed the seller a few times for an explanation to no avail .

It's the golf hat pattern by InnerHooker on Etsy (I apologize if this person is on Crochetville - I am just trying to figure out how to make this hat!!)

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71429303/grandpa-bruces-newsboy-driving-cap?ref=sr_list_1&ga_search_query=golf+hat+pattern&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_facet=handmade

very frustrating if the etsy seller is not responding to your question!

I certainly understand you don't want to post too much of the pattern. I can see you need to add 10 sts in row 4 but the directions don't tell me how you would do that. too bad there is not a photo of the top of the hat.