"brainless crochet"

From time to time I find the need to do some "brainless" crochet. I think you all know what I mean. No pattern to follow, comfortable yarn and pace, can be done while watching Tv, carrying a conversation, etc.

When I feel like that, I may pull out some cotton yarn, make another magic square hotpad (done in rounds, sc), or work on a corner start shawl, make a simple scarf.

What is your relaxing stitch or pattern?

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm still a beginner, or maybe an advanced beginner now, and there's not much I can do that is completely "brainless" yet. About the only thing I can do easily with little or no concentration is a basic scarf in a simple stitch, such as single or double crochet. Or anything done the same way. Stitch across the row, chain, turn. That I can do "brainless."

When I'm not working on dishcloths or squares for my swaps, I am doing an afghan for Pine Ridge in straight rows of Half double, 3 strands, Q hook. All I have to do is count the stitches at the end of every row or two. Perfect for times like right now, when I'm stuck at work but can't keep my eyes open.

Kathy

When I need to do 'relaxing' crochet, I just pick up my hook & yarn & go to town. For example, after I finished my doily for the doily swap, I needed to make a few fun things, and wahlah, I came up with the Sunglass/Eyeglass Visor and the Lil' Buns snoods. Both are posted on the board. I also have a book I keep handy for when I get inspirations. When I get an inspiration, I sketch it out in my book (the pages are gridded). I make short notes on my idea of what hook I might use, what yarn, etc. Then when I need a 'relaxing' crochet moment, I look through my book and usually pick one to work on. Relaxing to me is creating something new. My next project which is already in my brain will be great.