Tunisian Crochet

clairymary

Hi everyone, I want to teach myself tunisian crochet but I have no idea where to start! Can anyone give me a nudge in the right direction, I dont mind buying a really good book if anyone could suggest one. Plus I would like suggestions on the best hooks too. Thanks in advance for your advice.

I am no expert on hooks but I tend to use a size N simply because I crochet tight in general and the tunisian crochet basic stitches tend to curl.

I am actually teaching myself as well. I cannot do anything fancy but I can do the regular tunisian stitch and the tunisian perl which makes wonderful scarves.

Before buying a book, I would just look to the internet. Look up tunisian crochet on youtube and also Crochet Pattern Central. They have an instruction directory and it's all free.

http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/instruction_directory.php

If you find you really enjoy tunisian crochet, then I'd say look for a book. I enjoy it but have found so many resources online for free that buying a book hasn't become necessary yet.

Hope this helps!

- Cris

Thank you Cris, I will check cpc and you tube out first. I was planning on just buying one hook to see if I could pick it up and if I liked it! I was thinking of getting a 5.0mm/H as its the size Im quite comfortable with. I fancied a new challenge for the new year!!! Many thanks again for your guidance.

I enjoy working with Leisure Arts pattern books. A couple of them have tunisian crochet projects in them, and for those, there are special instructions on how to do the stitch. I saw an angel afghan that I wanted to make for someone very dear, so that gave me the motivation to focus on those instructions until I figured it out. (So I guess what I'm saying is that, for me, it was a combination of good clear instructions from Leisure Arts and my determination.;)) Best of luck to you! There are so many wonderful projects using this lovely technique! :)