one-handed crochet-new here

gracefulwingz

Hi, I have been crocheting for about 20 yrs, but I recently was diagnosed with brain cancer and had a tumor removed and now have very limited use of left hand but full use of right and praise God I'm right handed.

can anyone help me figure out how to crochet using thread with use of mainly right hand only?

I bought a crochet aid.....of no value (to me :) ).

There was just a discussion of this over on Ravelry. A right-handed crocheter doesn't have a left hand. When she isn't wearing her prosthesis, she holds the crochet on the edge of a table with her elbow. When I've had a hand taped up (sprained wrist) I did the same thing and it worked. I was using yarn and a bigger hook, but it might work with thread. Don't give up!

Hello and Welcome:

I am interested in this post because:

I love crochet

I work in physical therapy

I have cancer, too!

I don't do thread crochet but I just did a swatch in yarn to study what my left hand was doing. The pain thing my left hand does is pinch to pull the yarn through.

It is your pincher grasp that you are having trouble with?

I wish you were sitting here so we could come up with a way to do this.

Are you seeing a physical or occupational therapist? I bet an occupational therapist could suggest an aid that would help. I will ask today when I am at work.

Welcome!

I hope you feeling better. I also want to say I so happy you are looking for ways to still do the things you like.

Ok, here is what I thought might work, I also gave it a try.

Can you hold a bigger crochet hook or knitting needle?

I wraped the yarn around a bigger hook, and use my the back of my hand and leg to hold my work.

I kind of use my leg as a table to hold everything, and used the hook to hold the yarn.

I hope that might help soom.

I will keep thinking, to see if I can come up with more help.

Take care!!!

Hugs

Still brainstorming here, I hope you check back in and give us more info: