Getting started, whats best to buy?

Munkey

Question

Hi, I'm off to buy things tomorrow to get me started to learn to crochet.

Looking on the internet, there seems to be lots of different types of hooks etc, what is best to buy when just starting out? I know some of it is probably personal preference but, as I'm a complete beginner I don't know what size hooks to buy or what type of yarn/wool.

Also what stitch is best to learn first?

Sorry for all the silly questions :blush

Thanks

9 answers to this question

I'd suggest starting with an H hook, and some worsted weight (size 4) yarn. Red Heart Super Savers is a good one to start with.

Learning to chain and do the SC (single crochet) are the foundations for learning everything else. You can google for videos on YouTube of these.

If you are in the UK, let us know - your terminology will be a bit different.

Thank you!

I am in the UK, will the hook sizing still be the same do you think?

I'll have a look on you tube tomorrow then, it's sometimes easier to learn when you can see somebody else doing it, sometimes books can be a bit confusing.

Thanks for your help!

Hi and welcome to the Ville:hook

Since you plan to learn from the internet, you will be seeing both UK and US terms. here's a handy list http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=38393

I think that outside the US, hooks are usually marked with mm sizes, here is a list of US/mm sizes http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=38391

I saw in your other post that you knit, so you already know how to match yarn and needle. :knit Generally, for crocheting you will want a hook 1 or 2 mm bigger than the suggested knitting needle.

a few good web sites http://www.nexstitch.com/v_crochet_videos.html

http://www.crochetcabana.com/tutorials/index.htm

http://www.stitchdiva.com/custom.aspx?id=53