Does a knitted dishcloth need a border?

champygirl

I very very very new to knitting.:blush I made my first dishcloth this weekend, it's not pretty but I'm sure it'll work.:think;) I just have a hard time with the casting on, I need to practice more:yes. I was wondering if knitted wash clothes needed to be bordered or not? And wondering if they're were advantages and negatives to having a border? Usually when I crochet dishcloths I do a sc around, (unless they're crocheted in around, or I'm working from a pattern that has a shape to them or if worked diagonally.) Thanks for any input and suggestions ahead of time, it would be greatly appreciated.:yes

Hi Champ

I hope someone else comes in to give their opinion who knows more about knitting than I do. I would guess you could use it with or without a border, but I am just guessing. I am really new at knitting myself, so I am not a good one to answer knitting questions.

I just didn't want you to ask a question and maybe not have anyone answer you .

Hopefully someone else can drop in and give you some more educated input .

Good luck !

My mom, who is an expert knitter suggests either a seed stitch border, (her preference), or a garter stitch border. She says 4 stitches on each side and a half inch or slightly more top and bottom will be enough. A border will keep your dishcloth from curling and will make it look finished.

• 2 weeks later...

i 2nd what happytee said. most of the 1's ive seen/done had the border already in/on it. even the idiot's cloth done diagonally; it's got an "eyelet" look to the border edge.

Sandy

most of my dishcloths (the idiot's discloth aka grandma's favorite) is the main one I use, I also use a variation of that one that has a solid border (no eyelet lace). My cloths are all done garter stitch, so it doesn't curl up much on the edges, but I think a border would help to enhance and give a more finished look.