Learn to Knit -Barbara Walker Afghan Book

JulieKay

I just thought I'd put a thread in here so those who may be working on this book have a place to ask questions and discuss squares. etc .

I am a VERY new beginner, so certainly don't have the skill to lead a knitting group,but I just wanted a place where we could all meet to possibly help each other out,and maybe someone could assist us out there if we get stuck .

I am currently on Square 4 .

Drop on in if you have the book or are interested. It is a gem of a book,and seems very basic in the explanations, so it helps get a newbie like me started in the right direction .

• Replies 208
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Jude

Well, maybe this will be the week for you to get a good start on square one . You'll do fine. If I can do it, anyone can . I have noticed my squares look a little better with each one, so it must just take lots of practice so the stitches look all even .

Cindy- you have a big jump on us, so you have already done lots of them that we haven't . We'll see if maybe we can all get on a schedule of some type in here so we can complete this in a certain length of time .

Since you are ahead, maybe we will have to complete 2 to your every one ...

I don't know yet, but maybe somehow we could work out a system so we all make progress and get this completed .

If you guys have any ideas, I'm open to them. Like I said, I would not make a good leader for knitting,but maybe all of us together can come up with a plan .

Wow, Sherri --

You have a lot of patience to stick with a project that long ! I guess maybe we could all figure out what type timetable we want to work out, whether we want our own,or whether we will try it as a group to do a certain number of squares in a certain time frame .

I'm really hoping to make one square a week...we'll see how that goes:lol

Sherri....you are one of the most disciplined people I know!!

How about this idea ...