granny square

mdkb901

Question

hi i am new to crochet i am working on a blanket but i want to try new things so i want to try to make a granny square and i am having problems with it can any one help me

thank you from Melissa

this is a picture of what i have started so far

post-28493-135897426535_thumb.jpg

Listen to darski about weaving in ends. It gets to be a nightmare if you let it go. It seems to take as long to weave ends as it does to crochet the thing to begin with. :hook

How do you recommend joining granny squares and do you join them together as you're crocheting them, or do you wait until you have completed all of the granny squares in your pattern and then join them.

Thanks

How do you recommend joining granny squares and do you join them together as you're crocheting them, or do you wait until you have completed all of the granny squares in your pattern and then join them.

Thanks

You can do it either as you go, or finish each one then sew or crochet them together.

You'll get a lot of responses as there are a lot of favorites. CrochetCabana has a good overview of methods http://www.crochetcabana.com/tutorials/joining_squares.htm

My personal favorite is flat braid by Priscilla Hewitt, find the pdf here http://www.priscillascrochet.net/freepatterns.html under edgings and joinings. I like the corner method by Chris Simon http://www.geocities.com/cdjsimon/hmb_corner_details.html

I don't know what you don't understand, but try this:

Ch 5, join with a sl st in first ch made. This will form a ring or circle. You will be working the next round directly into the center hole of this circle.

Rnd 1: Ch 3 (this will count as the first dc of your rnd).

Work 2 dc into the center hole of the circle.

Ch 3, work 3 dc in the center hole of the circle. This firms your first corner.

Ch 1 (this starts your first side).

Work 3 dc, ch 3, 3 dc, ch 1 in the center of the circle. This forms your second corner and second side.