The Wonder World of Spinning-How do I start? or Can you spare some advice?

inkstained

Hello! I'm new at Crochetville! As a college student with a very limited budget who lives in a mostly rural state, I understand the potential benefits of spinning my own yarn. The problem is how do I start? How can I start?

Here's the situation: I have found a local store (granted 2 hours and half a way but whose counting) that sells cleaned, washed, carded unspun yarn as well as wheels. The Idea: Depending on the comparsion price (i.e. price of yarn already spun, dyed, by a professional versues by unspun yarn and attempting to spin it myself who is an abslute beginner) buy the unspun yarn and spin my own yarn. The Problem: I don't know how. There are no books in my local library that can teach me how, and I don't anyone who is willing to teach me.

I would probably start of using a drop spindle and a very small amount of yarn if I actually attempted it. A wheel is not in the budget, sorry guys college comes first.

What I need is the answers to the following questions:

-1) What is a good price for unspun yarn? Where should I buy it? At the local LYS store that handspins it themselves or from the farmers or somewhere else?

-2) Can you recommend any good how to books that would teach me how to succesfully use a drop spindle to spin yarn?

-3) Is there anywhere online that I can learn how to spin for free?

Please keep in my mind, I'm a poor college student. I cannot afford, I don't have the money for (currently), anything elaborate or extreme. I willing to learn for the long range benefits (custom made yarn...how much better does it get?) but I can't spend a whole lot right off to start a new hobby.

Thank you in advance for all your help.

Sincerly, inkstained.

Hi inkstained,

Spinning can be as cheap or as expensive as you want to make it. Unspun 'yarn' comes in many forms. It is mostly referred to as roving or top, but there are clouds, batts, and other.