A Searchers serendipitous find

JHablinski

I am an unlikely crotcheter. Being an almost 60-year-old man with very long gray hair and beard I look more like a "Billy Biker" than a crocheter but now that I think about it, I don't think I know how a crocheter ought to look. My appearance came about by happenstance: the long hair started due to poverty and the beard was just laziness.

I'm retired with a few disable ties, so I was looking around for something to do with myself. I had always thought that I would be happy just lying around reading, and to a certain extent that was fairly pleasant, but there is a facet of humanity that just wants to produce something, be useful. I cast around for something I could do while watching TV. I checked various things:

* I tried to teach myself how to knit. I don't know if I was a poor student or a bad teacher, but that just didn't get me.

*I looked into papermaking. It was interesting but again it wasn't quite me.

*Fabric dying came and went. Interesting but not me.

*Sewing was something I had taught myself to do, and I enjoyed doing it, but too expensive, my sister-in-law had my machine and if I was going to buy another I would want it to have all the bells and whistles and they are not cheap. Likewise quilting. I love them and greatly appreciate their beauty. If there is a quilt show in town, I'm probably going to attend.

* Beading and jewelry making---too costly. I may take it up at some time---we'll see.

* Writing---Hummm! Every avid reader, and I'm that in spades, thinks the "Great American Novel" is lurking just below the surface waiting to get out, but nothing has bubbled up yet.