Jump to content

River.of.Asgard

Villager
  • Content Count

    1
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About River.of.Asgard

  • Birthday 07/10/1988

A Few Things About Me

  • Location
    Seattle, WA
  • Favorite projects
    Shawls, scarves, blankets, hats
  • Crocheting since...
    Early 2015
  1. I'm so glad I found this little community here online. I've been crocheting for about a year now, and most of my patterns have been improvised as I've worked on them. I'm proud of what I've learned and done so far, but since I'm still learning, improvising means I've scrapped more than a few projects after realizing that I could have maybe done something a little differently. So I found myself thinking about how nice it would be if I knew of a place in the Seattle area where I could bring my projects to ask for advice from more experienced crocheters, when I realized--the internet has EVERYTHING. Even crochet forums! So I'm very happy to have found Crochetville, and I'm looking forward to getting advice from many other people, and also to not wasting so much yarn, lol! A little about me otherwise: as of February 2016, I am 27 years old, and I've always enjoyed creative endeavors. When I was younger, I drew a lot, but as I've gotten older, I've found myself preferring art which has a more practical application than merely hanging on a wall, looking pretty. (Though I have thought about making wall hangings/tapestries on occasion.... it gets cold up here!) I love the satisfaction that comes from holding a completed project in my hands, and I've even started making things for my friends and family. I love animals; my cat is my son, and I look forward to being able to take in more fur-children in the future. I've been more of a cat person my whole life, but I've been wanting a dog lately. I escaped from Southern California about two years ago and have no desire to go back, except to visit. (I miss roller coasters. Not many of those up in Seattle.) I'm also a giant nerd. I went through my otaku (anime fan) phase in high school, grew up on Star Trek: The Next Generation, can quote almost all of Firefly, and know far more about Marvel and DC comics than should really be possible. I love Star Wars, aside from the prequels, play Magic: the Gathering.... really, I'm a big ol' geek, and I'm proud of it. I'm not much of a gamer, though, video nor tabletop, though almost all of my friends are, so I know the lingo, and even have a dice collection (I can't help it....they're so pretty). I also love reading, and it's my one problem with crocheting, is that I can't read a book and work on a project at the same time. I might start trying audio books soon to remedy that. Looking forward to getting to know you all! And I can't wait to see how my work improves as I pick your brains for advice! ^_^
×
×
  • Create New...